Federal Business Immigration Self-Employed Class Application Processing Times

Last updated: 2 September 2020

Canada's Business Immigration Self-Employed Program application processing times are based on the latest information available from Canadian immigration authorities.

Applicants under the Canada Self-Employed Persons Program must demonstrate that they have relevant agricultural, artistic, or athletic experience that will allow them to be successfully self-employed in Canada and to make a significant contribution in their field.

Changes for 2016

The way in which Canadian immigration processing times are published by the government of Canada changed as of January, 2016. Processing times are not currently published per visa office; rather, they are published depending on when the application was submitted.

Processing Times Tool

The Government of Canada recently changed how immigration processing times are published. Use our Canada Immigration Processing Times Tool to get the latest information.


Canada Self-employed Persons Program processing time: 24 months.

The processing time is based on how long it took Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) to process applications in the past 12 months.

Visa Offices

The following is a list of visa offices where Federal Business Immigration Self-Employed Class applications may be processed.

Bogota, Colombia
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Havana, Cuba
Kingston, Jamaica
Lima, Peru
Los Angeles, United States
Mexico City, Mexico
New York City, United States
Ottawa (Case Processing Center), Canada
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Santiago, Chile
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Africa and the Middle East
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Accra, Ghana
Amman, Jordan
Ankara, Turkey
Beirut, Lebanon
Cairo, Egypt
Dakar, Senegal
Nairobi, Kenya
Pretoria, South Africa
Rabat, Morocco
Tel Aviv, Israel
Asia and Pacific
Beijing, China
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Hong Kong, China
Islamabad, Pakistan
Manila, Philippines
New Delhi, India
Singapore, Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Bucharest, Romania
Kiev, Ukraine
London, United Kingdom
Moscow, Russia
Paris, France
Rome, Italy
Vienna, Austria
Warsaw, Poland